Belize’s 2021 Public and Bank Holidays – Updated Jan 4, 2021

by McNab Editorial Team

When compared to other countries, Belize has a large amount of public holidays throughout the year. This is an exceptionally great thing for locals and tourists alike because this means vacation time! Or, a mini-vacation at least. Belizeans look forward to public holidays for spending time with family, celebrating historical events, or simply or as a chance to discover this beautiful jewel. Although, it should be noted that holidays in Belize are honored in their entirety; most places are closed altogether on holidays, so be mindful when planning activities. Here is a list of Public and Bank Holidays for 2021:

Friday, January 01

New Years Day

Friday, January 15

George Price Day

Monday, March 08

National Heroes and Benefactors Day (in lieu of Tuesday, March 9th)

Friday, April 02

Good Friday

Saturday, April 03

Holy Saturday

Monday, April 05

Easter Monday

Saturday, May 01

Labour Day

Monday, May 24

Sovereign's Day/Commonwealth Day

Monday, August 2

Freedom Day (in lieu of August 1st)

Friday, September 10

St. George's Caye Day

Tuesday, September 21

Independence Day

Friday, November 19

Garifuna Settlement Day

Saturday, December 25

Christmas Day

Monday, December 27

Boxing Day (in lieu of Sunday, December 26th)

Start planning your 2021 Belize vacation now! For more information visit: HERE

In addition to public holidays, Belize has a host of festivals and events that make weekends and travel to Belize more enjoyable.  Due to the pandemic, some of these festivals may be postponed throughout the year or may be doing virtual alternatives.  Please be sure to check with your hotel or tour operator for more details before travel.

Related Articles